Snowstorm Causes School Closures, Delays

Several schools will be closed or delayed on Thursday because of power outages and the snowstorm.

While most Jefferson County School District schools are open on Thursday, six will be closed because they have no power. Those schools are Edgewater Elementary, Stott Elementary, Red Rocks Elementary, Westgate Elementary, Slater Elementary and O’Connell Middle School.

While those schools are closed, officials said teachers should still report.

Cherry Creek schools will be on a delayed start on Thursday. This includes bus pickup and school start times. High schools will operate on a 30 minute delay, elementary and middle schools will operate on a 1 hour delay.

Littleton Public Schools elementary schools will be delayed 30 minutes.

Clear Creek School District schools will be delayed 2 hours. Officials said buses are running late.

Douglas County Distrist Schools will be delayed 1 hour, 30 minutes.

Park County Schools are delayed 2 hours.

Regis Jesuit High School will be on a 2 hour delay.

Mullen High School will open at 10 a.m.

Valor Christian High School will delay its start by 90 minutes.

Other districts closed on Thursday:

  • Lake County School District R-1
  • Kiowa Schools
  • Gilpin County Schools RE-1
  • Elbert School District 200
  • Sheridan Schools District 2
  • Legacy Academy
  • See the full list of school closures on our website and sign up for a free text alert when your child's school is closed.

    Print this article Back to Top