Connor Cannizzaro and Trevor Baptiste tabbed USILA First Team All-Americans

PHILADELPHIA - University of Denver sophomore attackman Connor Cannizzaro (Cazenovia, N.Y.) and freshman face-off specialist Trevor Baptiste (Denville, N.J.) were named to the United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association (USILA) All-America First Team, highlighting seven different Pioneers that received the prestigious status on Thursday.

Denver’s seven selections are the most in a single-season in program history. Cannizzaro and Baptiste also became the second and third first-teamers in program history, joining Cameron Flint’s 2013 first-team selection.

Senior Tewaaraton finalist Wesley Berg (Coquitlam, B.C) and sophomore defender Christian Burgdorf (Westfield, N.J.) gave Denver two players on the second team as well. Sophomore Zach Miller (Steamburg, N.Y.) earned third-team accolades for his season, while senior Erik Adamson (Anaheim Hills, Calif.) and captain Carson Cannon (Stillwater, Minn.) were honorable mention selections.  

For Berg, Thursday marks his third All-America honor, and his first second team honor. The Pioneer captain was a third-team pick in 2014 and an honorable mention selection in 2013. Burgdorf’s selection is his second in two seasons with the program, following up his honorable mention status last year with a second-team honor in 2015.

Miller, the 2014 Inside Lacrosse Freshman of the Year, earned his first USILA All-America honor on Thursday. Adamson picked up his second-consecutive honorable mention pick, while Cannon received his first All-America nod in 2015.

No. 4 seed Denver will take on No. 1 seed Notre Dame in the Championship Weekend opener on Saturday at 1 p.m. ET/11 a.m. MT on ESPN2 at Lincoln Financial Field in Philadelphia.

DU’s All-America Selections

  • 2001: Mike Law, Honorable Mention (midfield)
  • 2004: Scott Davidson, Honorable Mention (midfield)
  • 2004: Cory Vann, Honorable Mention (defense)
  • 2005: Scott Davidson, Honorable Mention (midfield)
  • 2006: Geoff Snider, Third Team (midfield)
  • 2008: Jamie Lincoln, Honorable Mention (attack)
  • 2010: Dillon Roy, Honorable Mention (defense)
  • 2010: Alex Demopoulos, Honorable Mention (attack)
  • 2011: Mark Matthews, Second Team (attack)
  • 2011: Chase Carraro, Honorable Mention (midfield)
  • 2011: Cameron Flint, Honorable Mention (midfield)
  • 2011: Jamie Faus, Honorable Mention (goaltender)
  • 2012: Mark Matthews, Second Team (attack)
  • 2012: Chase Carraro, Second Team (midfield)
  • 2012: Jeremy Noble, Third Team (midfield)
  • 2012: Cameron Flint, Honorable Mention (midfield)
  • 2013: Cameron Flint, First Team (midfield)
  • 2013: Wesley Berg, Honorable Mention (attack)
  • 2013: Eric Law, Honorable Mention (attack)
  • 2013: Jeremy Noble, Honorable Mention (midfield)
  • 2014: Jeremy Noble, Second Team (midfield)
  • 2014: Wesley Berg, Third Team (attack)
  • 2014: Erik Adamson, Honorable Mention (attack)
  • 2014: Christian Burgdorf, Honorable Mention (defense)
  • 2015: Connor Cannizzaro, First Team (attack)
  • 2015: Trevor Baptiste, First Team (faceoff)
  • 2015: Wesley Berg, Second Team (attack)
  • 2015: Christian Burgdorf, Second Team (defense)
  • 2015: Zach Miller, Third Team (midfield)
  • 2015: Erik Adamson, Honorable Mention (midfield)
  • 2015: Carson Cannon, Honorable Mention (defense)