National News Partner

President Donald Trump Still Won't Commit To The Paris Agreement

The U.S. is the only G-7 member that hasn't agreed to honor the Paris Agreement.

G-7 is an alliance of the seven most industrialized economies in the world: Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, the U.K. and the U.S.

The European Union also participates at G-7 summits but isn't listed as an official member.

SEE MORE: Trump Reportedly Says Germans Are 'Bad, Very Bad' At NATO Meeting

On Saturday, the group issued its annual declaration addressing various economic and political challenges around the world, including the 195-nation Paris accord. U.S. President Donald Trump refused to commit.

The Paris Agreement is a legally binding plan aimed at capping the rise of global temperatures and reducing emissions. Former President Barack Obama signed on in August.

The G-7 declaration says the U.S. is still reviewing its policies on climate change. Trump tweeted that he would make a final decision on whether to abide by the regulation goals next week.

Trending stories at

Watch Newsy Everywhere

Mobile Apps

See All Apps
download newsy apple download newsy android

Streaming TV Devices

See All Devices
stream newsy roku stream newsy amazon stream newsy apple tv