National News Partner

Judge Who Blocked The First Travel Ban Won't Block The Second ... Yet

A U.S. judge will not issue an emergency order to halt the Trump administration's second travel ban — at least for now.

Seven states are challenging the travel ban in court: Oregon, Washington, Minnesota, New York, Massachusetts, Maryland and Hawaii.

U.S. District Judge James Robart, who issued a restraining order on the first ban, declined to extend that order to cover the second. He said before he can rule on the issue, a new complaint or motion would have to be filed.

SEE MORE: Israel Has A Travel Ban, Too

Robart is a holdover from the George W. Bush administration. He was nominated to his judgeship in 2003.

The second travel ban is more narrowly written than the first; six of the seven original Muslim-majority countries are included. Iraq was omitted after it agreed to increase visa screenings and data sharing.

And while the ban still temporarily suspends the U.S. refugee program, it no longer bars Syrian refugees indefinitely.

The new travel ban is set to take effect March 16.

Trending stories at

Watch Newsy Everywhere

Mobile Apps

See All Apps
download newsy apple download newsy android

Streaming TV Devices

See All Devices
stream newsy roku stream newsy amazon stream newsy apple tv