These new laws just took effect in Colorado

Posted at 7:27 AM, Jan 01, 2016
and last updated 2016-01-02 14:32:03-05

There are several new laws and changes that start on January 1 in Colorado.

-- Minimum Wage -- 

  • The minimum wage is going up eight cents from $8.23 an hour to $8.31 an hour in Colorado. The minimum wage for tipped workers is now $5.29

-- Child welfare -- 

  • One of the laws increases oversight by providing more funding for child and family investigators in the court system. 
  • The other require any child missing from foster care or placement to be reported within 24 hours, so it can be forwarded to the FBI and other agencies. 

-- Smoking bans -- 

-- Pay raises -- 

  • State and County leaders, including the governor and attorney general, will all get pay raises starting in 2019.


Sign up for Denver7 email alerts to stay informed about breaking news and daily headlines.

Or, keep up-to-date by following Denver7 on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.