ASPEN, Colo. – A first of its kind tobacco ordinance in the state was just passed in Aspen.
The Aspen City Council passed an ordinance Monday that raises the minimum age to buy tobacco products to 21 from 18. The law takes effect January 1, 2018.
City officials hope the ordinance will curb young adult tobacco addiction, which studies suggest increases the younger a person begins smoking.
The city estimates it will lose around $75,000 per year in tax revenue from lost sales. Additionally, it will cost approximately $3,000 annually to administer the program.
More than 200 other municipalities across the country and the states of California and Hawaii have passed similar laws. Aspen is the first city in Colorado to restrict tobacco sales to those under 21.