NewsLocal News

Actions

2019 bringing new laws, higher minimum wage to Colorado

CORP-Digital-Default-Image-1280x720-KMGH.png
Posted at 11:44 AM, Dec 31, 2018
and last updated 2018-12-31 13:44:14-05

DENVER — The new year will bring with it a number of new laws, fee increases and other changes that could affect Coloradans’ daily lives and budgets.

Here’s a look at some of the major changes coming to Colorado:

Full-strength beer sales

Bye-bye, 3.2 beer.

As of Jan. 1, Colorado grocery stores and convenience stores will be able to sell full-strength beer. They had previously been limited to selling beer that was no more than 3.2 percent alcohol by volume.

You’ll still have to visit a liquor store to purchase wine or liquor.

RELATED: Mom and pop liquor stores brace for Jan. 1, when new law allows grocers to sell full-strength beer

Immigrant driver's licenses

Starting on the first of the new year, Colorado residents who cannot prove their lawful presence in the United States will be able to use a Social Security number to obtain a driver's license. Those residents previously needed proof of an Individual Taxpayer Identification Number and SSNs were not accepted.

For more on the new requirements, click here.

Minimum wage increase

Colorado’s minimum wage rises by $.90 on Jan. 1 for a new minimum of $11.10 per hour. The new tipped minimum wage is $8.08.

The minimum wage will rise again next year to reach $12, after which the wage will increase annually based on cost of living adjustments.

For more information on the increase, head over to colorado.gov.

Park fees increase

It will cost a little more to visit Colorado State Parks in 2019. Daily passes for vehicles, individuals and off-leash dogs all are increasing by $1 while the cost of an annual pass is going up $10.

Click here for more information on the new prices.