FEMA grants requested flood relief funds for many Colorado counties, denies several others

DENVER - FEMA has approved flood relief funds for several counties but denied money to repair flood-damaged infrastructure in three Colorado counties and funds to assist individual property owners in five counties.

Colorado requested assistance for individuals in 17 counties and public assistance of various types for 21 counties.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency denied the request for assistance for property owners in Broomfield, Denver, Gilpin, Otero, and Pueblo Counties. They explained in a letter to the state that the damage to homes in those counties was "not of the severity and magnitude to warrant their designation under the Individual Assistance program."

Similarly, they denied funding for infrastructure repair in Broomfield, Otero and Pueblo Counties because the damage there was not severe enough.

The Colorado Office of Emergency Management says they have 30 days to appeal the denials and Gov. John Hickenlooper's office is considering that option.

Meanwhile, FEMA has awarded public assistance of various types for Adams, Arapahoe, Boulder, Broomfield, Clear Creek, Crowley, Denver, El Paso, Fremont, Gilpin, Jefferson, Lake, Larimer, Lincoln, Logan, Morgan, Pueblo, Sedgwick, Washington and Weld Counties.

Assistance for individuals was approved for residents of Adams, Arapahoe, Boulder, Clear Creek, El Paso, Fremont, Jefferson, Larimer, Logan, Morgan and Weld Counties who apply by Nov. 14.

Federal aid to victims of the historic September floods has reached $100 million.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency says more than $49.4 million has been approved for housing assistance, damaged or lost personal possessions, and other disaster-related needs. Meanwhile, the U.S. Small Business Administration says homeowners, renters, nonprofits, and businesses have received $50.7 million in disaster loans.

Print this article Back to Top