University of Colorado inducts 12 to Athletic Hall of Fame

Heisman winner Rashaan Salaam amongst inductees

BOULDER, Colo. - The University of Colorado will induct the school's only Heisman Trophy winner Rashaan Salaam into the Athletic Hall of Fame on Thursday.

Salaam joins ten other athletes and longtime Colorado Buffaloes and Denver Broncos announcer Larry Zimmer into Hall of Fame.

The ninth class includes Butkus Award recipient linebacker Matt Russell, Buffaloes' first and only two-time basketball All-American Jack Harvey and cross-country women's star Mary Decker-Stanley.

The list dates back to 1998 when Byron "Whizzer" White was the first and sole inductee. Since then, 47 other athletes and the entire 1959 ski team have been enshrined to date.

The complete list of 2012 inductees below:

Frank Bernardi, Football/Baseball (1952-1955)

Alan Culpepper, Cross Country & Track (1992-1996)

Mary Decker-Stanley, Cross Country & Track (1977-1979)

Boyd Dowler, Football (1956-1958)

Joe Garten, Football (1987-1990)

Jack Harvey, Basketball (1937-1940)

Steve Jones, Golf (1977-1981)

Leason "Pete" McCloud, Basketball (1939-1942)

Vidar Nilsgard, Skiing (1971-1974)

Matt Russell, Football (1993-1996)

Rashaan Salaam, Football (1992-1994)

Larry Zimmer, Announcer (1971-present)


Print this article Back to Top