Wreckage of missing Air Algerie Flight 5017 found in Mali

Ougadougou - A Burkina Faso official says wreckage and remains from a missing air Algerie flight was found in Mali.

The flight was carrying 116 people from Burkina Faso to Algeria’s capital.

Air navigation services lost track of the Swiftair MD-83 about 50 minutes after takeoff from Ougadougou, the capital of Burkina Faso, at 0155 GMT (7:55 p.m. MDT Wednesday), the official Algerian news agency said. That means that Flight 5017 had been missing for hours before the news was made public.

The flight path of the plane from Ouagadougou, the capital of the west African nation of Burkina Faso, to Algiers wasn’t immediately clear. Ougadougou is in a nearly straight line south of Algiers, passing over Mali where unrest continues in the north.

Reuters reported that Burkino Faso Transport Minister Jean Bertin Ouedrago said the pilot asked to change route at 0138 GMT (7.38 p.m. MDT) because of a storm in the area.

Swiftair, a private Spanish airline, said it was trying to ascertain what had happened to the plane.

It said the crew included two pilots and four cabin staff.

“In keeping with procedures, Air Algerie has launched its emergency plan,” the APS news agency quoted the airline as saying.

Print this article Back to Top