Voters oust 3 on Black Forest Fire Rescue Board

EL PASO COUNTY, Colo. - Three incumbents are out and three new people are in on the Black Forest Fire Board.

KRDO-TV in Colorado Springs is reporting that 2,500 people voted in the election. Only 170 people voted in the last election.

PJ Langmaid, Rick Nearhoof and Jayme McConnellogue were elected, incumbents Ed Bracken, Preston Cooper and Walter Seelye were removed, KRDO-TV said.

The Black Forest Fire last summer burned more than 18,000 acres, destroyed 488 homes and killed two people.

There were allegations of unprofessional behavior or misconduct against the fire chief, but he was exonerated during an investigation. However, that investigation cost the agency more than $100,000, according to KKTV-TV.

Black Forest Fire Rescue is eliminating a part-time firefighter position and will stop staffing one fire station because of the high cost of an internal investigation.

Two members of the board were not up for re-election. Bill Marchant and Rick McMorran will continue their four-year terms on the board.

The three newly-elected board members will be sworn in at the next board meeting on May 21.

Print this article Back to Top