Minimum-wage workers in Colorado will get an hourly raise of 14 cents on January 1
Last Updated: 170 days ago
Colorado’s minimum-wage workers will get an hourly raise of 14 cents on Jan. 1.
The minimum for workers who don’t receive tips will increase to $7.78 an hour, while the minimum
for servers and other workers who receive tips from customers will rise to $4.76 an hour. The higher
minimum wage will boost pay for a full-time worker by $300 a year.
A state law approved by voters in 2006 requires the wage increase to keep up with inflation.
Arizona, Florida, Missouri, Montana, Ohio, Oregon, Rhode Island, Vermont and Washington will also boost their respective minimum wages between 10 to 35 cents per hour, starting Jan. 1.
In 31 states that do not mandate a higher state minimum wage, the federal minimum wage remains $7.25 per hour, with no cost-of-living adjustment. The last raise to the federal minimum came in 2009, after a series of increases signed into law by President George W. Bush.
Copyright 2012 Scripps Media, Inc. The Associated Press contributed to this report. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.